Handicaps

Handicaps page

L’accessibilité du Web est destinée à aider les personnes souffrant de handicaps spécifiques. Lorsque les sites web sont correctement conçus, navigables et codés, ils peuvent être utilisés par tout le monde. On pourrait penser que tous les sites web devraient déjà être accessibles à tous, mais en y regardant de plus près, on constate que la quasi-totalité des sites web et des outils numériques ne sont pas entièrement à jour.

Aujourd’hui encore, de nombreux sites sont développés avec des barrières d’accessibilité qui les rendent difficiles ou impossibles à utiliser pour certaines personnes. Il existe des normes internationales qui répertorient ces obstacles et indiquent comment les éviter. Grâce aux nombreux appareils (téléphones portables), les obstacles à l’accès au web ont considérablement diminué. Pourtant, les sites web sont parfois encore plus difficiles d’accès sur les appareils mobiles.

Obstacles pour les personnes handicapées

L’internet est principalement destiné à chaque être humain, indépendamment de la langue, de l’emplacement, du type d’appareil, du matériel, des logiciels ou des capacités. Il reste encore beaucoup de chemin à parcourir avant que le Web n’atteigne cet objectif et ne devienne accessible à des personnes ayant une gamme variée de capacités visuelles, audio, de mobilité, de parole et cognitives. En Europe, il y a 5 millions de personnes souffrant de handicaps spécifiques et aux États-Unis, 61 millions de personnes. Les handicaps les plus courants sur le web sont les handicaps auditifs, visuels, vocaux, neurologiques et cognitifs.

  • Visuel : lorsque les images n’ont pas de texte alternatif, les personnes aveugles n’obtiennent pas cette information. Les personnes qui ont des difficultés à voir ne peuvent pas lire les petites tailles de caractères.
  • Audio : les documents audio sans transcription ne sont pas accessibles aux personnes malentendantes.
  • Mobilité : lorsque les éléments cliquables sont trop petits, les personnes à mobilité réduite ne peuvent pas ouvrir ou cliquer sur l’élément.
  • Cognitif : les personnes ayant des difficultés de navigation, une utilisation complexe du langage ou les personnes épileptiques ne peuvent pas avoir d’images clignotantes.

Le monde réel contre le monde en ligne

Dans le monde réel, les personnes souffrant de ce type de handicap rencontrent des difficultés, qu’il convient d’éviter au mieux dans le monde en ligne. Le Web mondial élimine les obstacles auxquels de nombreuses personnes sont confrontées dans la communication et l’interaction dans le monde réel. Mais lorsque les logiciels, les outils, les sites web ne sont pas conçus et construits correctement, ces obstacles se produisent également en ligne, ce qui décourage les gens d’utiliser le Web. Heureusement, de nombreuses solutions conviviales offrent une aide à la mise en conformité totale avec le Web. En outre, il existe une conception universelle créée pour les sites web.

L’accessibilité à l’internet signifie le développement de sites web, d’outils et de technologies permettant aux personnes handicapées de les utiliser. Parmi les principaux obstacles rencontrés par les personnes souffrant de handicaps spécifiques, on peut citer la navigation, la perception du web, l’interaction, la compréhension et les possibilités de contribuer à l’internet.

L’avenir de l’accessibilité du web

De nos jours, les mots clés dans toutes les entreprises sont la diversité, l’inclusion et l’accessibilité aux choix de vie et aux capacités des gens. L’internet devient une ressource d’information de plus en plus précieuse dans les domaines commerciaux et non commerciaux de la vie ; politique, éducation, santé, hospitalité.

L’égalité des chances et l’accès aux technologies de l’information et de la communication sont considérés comme un droit humain fondamental par la Convention des Nations unies relative aux droits des personnes handicapées (UN CRPD).

Disabilities

People with disabilities like audio, visual, mobility and cognitive

Web accessibility is meant to help people with specific disabilities. When websites are correctly designed, navigable and coded, they can be used by everyone. You would think that all websites should be accessible to all already, but when you take a more in-depth look, you will notice that almost all websites and digital tools are not entirely up to date.

Still today, many sites are being developed with accessibility barriers that make them difficult or impossible for some people to use. There are international standards set to list these barriers and how to avoid them. With the many devices (mobile phones) the barrier to access the world wide web has decreased tremendously. But yet, the websites are sometimes even more challenging to access on mobile devices.

Barriers for people with disabilities

The Internet is primarily intended for every human, regardless of language, location, kind of device, hardware, software, or capabilities. There is still a long way to go until the Web meets this goal, and it becomes accessible to people with a diverse range of vision, audio, mobility, speech, and cognitive capabilities. In Europe there are 5 million people with specific disabilities and in the U.S. there are 61 million people. Most common web disabilities: audio, visual, speech, neurological, and cognitive.

  • Visual: when images do not have an alternative text, people who are blind do not get this information. People who have difficulty seeing cannot read small font sizes.
  • Audio: audio without transcript are not accessible to people with loss of hearing.
  • Mobility: when clickable items are too small, people with a mobility disability cannot open or click on the item.
  • Cognitive: difficult navigation, complex use of language or people with epilepsy cannot have flashing imagery.

The real world vs the online world

In the real world, people with these types of disabilities experience difficulties, which should be avoided in the online world in the best way we can. The Worldwide Web eliminates the obstacles that many people face in communication and interaction in the real world. But when software, tools, websites are not designed and built correctly, these obstacles will also occur online, which discourages people from using the Web. Luckily many user-friendly solutions offer support towards full web compliance. Besides, there is a universal design created for websites.

Accessibility to the Internet means the development of websites, tools and technology to enable people with disabilities to use them. Examples of the top barriers for people with specific disabilities are navigation, web perception, interaction, understanding, and options to contribute to the Internet.

The future of web accessibility

The keywords in all businesses nowadays are diversity, inclusion and accessibility to people’s life choices and capabilities. The Internet is becoming an increasingly valuable resource for information. In both commercial and non-commercial areas of life; politics, education, healthcare, hospitality.

Equal opportunity and access to information and communication technologies are considered a fundamental human right by the United Nations Convention on the topic the Rights of People with Disabilities (UN CRPD).

Illustration of computer screen with sign for speech disabilities

Web Accessibility for Users with Speech Disabilities

Worldwide about 18.5 million people have voice, speech, or language disabilities. These people face major disadvantages on basic resources such as the Internet. Although this may sound unreasonable and even unbelievable, it is our society’s harsh reality and this need...

Read more >
Illustration of computer screen with sign for visual disabilities

Web Accessibility for People with Visual Disabilities

People with visual disabilities often face barriers that restrict their interactions with web material, mainly because the web is generally visually focused. Web accessibility standards have been put in place and are mandatory in certain parts of the world to allow visually...

Read more >
Illustration of computer screen with sign for auditory disabilities

Website Accessibility for People With an Auditory Disability

Not everyone uses the web the same way. People with Audio or auditory disabilities are a prevalent type of disability that impedes people’s interaction with the web. Auditory disabilities exist on a continuum: hearing impairment could be moderate, mild, severe, or pro...

Read more >
Illustration of computer screen with sign for cognitive disabilities

Web Accessibility for People with Cognitive Disabilities

Cognitive disability ranges from dyslexia to autism. People with cognitive impairments are limited in the way and manner they retrieve information from the Internet. This is why accessibility is seen as an essential factor when designing quality websites and tools for use.<...

Read more >
>